World Anticrisis Conference

Astana, Kazakhstan

May 22-24, 2013



We co-organized this conference with the Eurasian Club of Scientists under the auspices of the VI Astana Economic Forum and with the goal of addressing a wide range of macro issues, all of which represented challenges to global economic growth. Special emphasis was paid to bringing together leading emerging economies playing a significant role in the world’s growth. Further a roundtable discussion was held on day two of the event to establish an anti-crisis declaration. This declaration, which RBWC helped redact, was meant to serve as a guiding framework for future reflection and the underpinning of the Kazakh government’s invitation to economies worldwide to participate in the G-Global initiative. G-global was conceived to allow for a universal response to the crisis to emerge from engaging in the process of collectively debating and responding to the concerns pushed for by G20.



  • Abdulkarim NEMATOV: Deputy Chairman of the National Bank, Tajikistan
  • Ahmad Mohamed Ali AL MADANI: President of the Islamic Development Bank
  • Alejandro JARA: Deputy Director-General, World Trade Organization
  • Aleksander KWASNIEWSKI: President of Poland
  • Alexei LIKHACHEV: Deputy Minister of Economic Development, Russian Federation
  • Alfred GUSENBAUER: 11th Chancellor of Austria
  • Arystan ESENTUGELOV: Professor, Senior Fellow, Eurasian Economic Club of Scientists, Honorary President of Economic Research Institute, Republic of Kazakhstan
  • Azamat ABDYMOMUNOV: Head, Center for Strategic Research and Analysis, Administration of the President, Kazakhstan’s G20 Sherpa
  • Bolat ZHAMISHEV: Minister of Finance, Kazakhstan
  • Charles GORE: Honorary Professor of Economics, University of Glasgow
  • Christopher Antoniou PISSARIDES: Senior Advisor to the President of Cyprus, Chairman of the Council on National Economy, Professor of Economics at London School of Economics, Nobel Prize in Economics
  • Domingo CAVALLO: Senior Fellow of the Institute for Global Affairs, Yale University, Former Minister of Economy, Former President of Central Bank of Argentina
  • Dominique STRAUSS KAHN: Former Managing Director of the IMF
  • Echkard CORDES: President, Committee on Eastern European Economic Relations, Germany
  • Edward PRESCOTT: Professor at Arizona State University’s W.P. Carey School of Business, Nobel Prize in Economics
  • Elena ZOTOVA: Head of Employment Division at the G20 Presidential Experts’ Council at the Task Force on Employment Meeting
  • Eun SUNG SOO: Deputy Minister of Strategy and Finance of Korea
  • Finn KYDLAND: Professor of Economics at the University of California, Santa Barbara, Nobel Prize in Economics
  • Georgi PARAVANOV: Former President of Bulgaria
  • Grigoriy MARCHENKO: Chairman, National Bank of Kazakhstan
  • Jacob FRENKEL: Chairman, JP Morgan Chase International
  • Jamel E. ZARROUK: Chief Economist, Islamic Development Bank Group
  • Jean LEMIERRE: Advisor to the Chairman, BNP Paribas, Former President of EBRD
  • Joe STUDWELL: Freelance Writer, Journalist and Author oh How Asia Works
  • Juha KAHKONEN: Deputy Director, Middle East and Central Asia Department, IMF
  • Kairat KELIMBETOV: Deputy Prime Minister of Kazakhstan
  • Khagani ABDULLAYEV: Deputy Chairman, Azerbaijan Central Bank
  • Kuandyk BISHIMBAEV: Deputy Chairman, Sovereign Wealth Fund Samruk Kazyna, Kazakhstan
  • Marc UZAN: Executive Director, Reinventing Bretton Woods Committee
  • Massimiliano CASTELLI: Head of Strategy, Global Sovereign Markets, UBS Global Asset Management
  • Muhammad Sulaiman AL JASSER: Minister of Economy and Planning of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
  • Murat KARIMSAKOV: President, “Eurasian Economic Club of Scientists” Association
  • Nestor OSORIO: President of the United Nations Economic and Social Council
  • Nikola GRUEVSKI: Prime Minister of the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
  • Nursultan NAZARBAYEV: President of the Republic of Kazakhstan
  • Ratu Inoke KUBUABOLA: Foreign Affairs Minister of Fiji – Chair of G77 and China
  • Riz KHAN: TV Host and Producer, Al Jazeera International
  • Rizzal Affandi LUKMAN: Deputy Minister for International Economic and Financial Cooperation, Coordinating Ministry for Economic Affairs of the Republic of Indonesia
  • Robert MUNDELL: Professor of Economics, Columbia University, Nobel Prize In Economics
  • Romano PRODI: Former Prime Minister of Italy
  • Rowsch Noori Sideq SHAWAYS: Deputy Prime Minister of Iraq
  • Sergey GLAZYEV: Adviser to the President of Russia, Member of Russian Academy of Science, Former Minister of External Economic Relations
  • Serik AKHMETOV: Prime Minister of Republic of Kazakhstan
  • Stefan GROBE: Anchor, Euronews Washington Correspondent
  • Supachai PANITCHPAKDI: Secretary General of the UN Conference on Trade and Development
  • Thomas HELBING: Division Chief, World Economic Outlook, IMF
  • Viktor KHRISTENKO: Chairman of the Board of the Eurasian Economic Commission
  • Vuk JEREMIC: President of the 67th Session of the United Nations General Assembly
  • Wim KOK: President, Club of Madrid, Former Prime Minister Kingdom of the Netherlands
  • Wu HONGBO: Under Secretary General, United Nations, Head, Department of Economic and Social Affairs
  • Yerima Lawan NGAMA: Federal Minister of Finance, Nigeria
  • Yousef Hussein KAMAL: Minister of Finance and Economy of Qatar

This website uses cookies. By using this website you agree to the use of cookies. Read More

The Reinventing Bretton Woods Committee uses cookies on its website to count and analyse visits to the site. The organization uses this information sparingly and responsibly. Users of the site can configure their web browsers to notify them of these cookies or refuse to use them.