The Monetary Future of the Americas

Montreal, Canada

April 18-19, 2000



This conference was organized to deepen discussions that were starting to emerge at the global level about the pros and cons of dollarization in Latin America as a result of the progress being made towards the creation of a common currency in Europe.  We discussed dollarization as a way for Latin American economies to resolve the currency mismatch and the original sin. The seminar organized in Canada also provided proposals for options for Canada and Mexico to adopt a common currency.  



  • Adam POSEN: Senior Fellow, Institute for International Economics, Washington
  • Alain DUBUC: Chief Editor, La Presse
  • Avinash PERSAUD: Managing Director, State Street, London
  • Bernard LANDRY: Vice Premier and Finance and Economics State Minister of Quebec
  • Charles Philippe DAVID: Tenured, Chaire Teleglobe Raoul Dandurand, UQAM
  • Christopher RAGAN: Professor of Economics, University McGILL and Editor, World Economic Affairs
  • Claude BLANCHET: President, Societe Generale de Financement du Quebec
  • Edmond ALPHANDERY: President, CNP, Former French Minister of Finance, France
  • Guillermo MONDINO: Research Director, IERAL, Fundacion Mediterranea, Buenos Aires
  • Herve CARRE: Director Euro Zone, European Commission, Bruxelles
  • Jean Pierre BEGUELIN: Chief Economist, Pictet Bank and Former Governor of the Swiss Central Bank, Geneve
  • John CROW: Former Governor, Bank of Canada
  • John MCCALLUM: First Vice President and Chief Economist, Banque Royale
  • John MURRAY: Senior Economist, Bank of Canada, Ottawa
  • Koichi HAMADA: Professor of Economics, Yale University, New Heaven
  • Liliana ROJAS SUAREZ: Director Latin American, Deutsche Bank, New York
  • Marc UZAN: Executive Director, Reinventing Bretton Woods Committee
  • Marcel COTE:  Associate Founder, SECOR
  • Masahiro KAWAI: Chief Economist, Asia World Bank, Washington
  • Michael GAVIN: Director, Latin American Research, Warburg Dillon Read, New York
  • Octavio DE BARROS: President, Brazilian Transnational Entreprise Society, Chief Economist, Bilbao Bank, Viscaya
  • Pablo BREARD: Vice President, International Research, Scotiabank Group
  • Panayotis SOLDATOS: Jean Monnet Chair, University of Montreal
  • Pierre FORTIN: Professor, Department of Economic Sciences, UQAM
  • Pierre LEMONDE: Executive Director, CORIM
  • Raymond BACHAND: Chief Executive Officer, Solidarity Fund, FTQ
  • Robert DUGGER: Director, Tudor Investment
  • Rogelio RAMIREZ DE LA O: Director, Ecanal SA, Mexico City
  • Ron MCKINNON: Professor of Economics, Stanford University
  • Thomas COURCHENE: Professor of Economics, Queen’s University, Kingston
  • Walter MOLANO: Director International Economic Research, BCP Securities, New York
  • Willem BUITER: Member of the committee of Monetary Policy, Bank of England
  • William GRUBEN: Director, Center for Latin America Economics, Vice President, Federal Reserve Bank, Dallas
  • Yukio YOSHIMURA: Executive Director for Japan, IMF, Washington

This website uses cookies. By using this website you agree to the use of cookies. Read More

The Reinventing Bretton Woods Committee uses cookies on its website to count and analyse visits to the site. The organization uses this information sparingly and responsibly. Users of the site can configure their web browsers to notify them of these cookies or refuse to use them.