The Future of the Bretton Woods Institutions: The European Contribution to the Debate on the New Financial Architecture

Paris, France

September 12-13, 2000



The American Council on Germany and the Reinventing Bretton Woods Committee convened this meeting two weeks before the 2000 Annual Meeting of the IMF/World Bank in Prague. The purpose was to examine and clarify European views on how the major international financial institutions – the International Monetary Fund, World Bank, regional development banks, and the Bank for International Settlements – could be reformed to cope with the new international economic and financial conditions of the 21st centrury. The premise of this gathering was that a vital and coherent European voice although essential for appropriate and targeted institutional reform was still missing and needed to be developed quickly in light of The Meltzer Commission report of March 2000. The Paris venue was chosen because France held the presidency of the European Union for the second half of 2000. 



  • Alberto GIOVANNINI: Deputy General Manager, Banco di Roma
  • Avinash PERSAUD: Head of Global Research, State Street Global Advisors
  • Edmond ALPHANDERY: Chairman of the Supervisory Board, CNP
  • Flemming LARSEN: Director, IMF Office in Europe
  • Henk BROUWER: Executive Director, De Nederlandsche Bank
  • Jacques DE LAROSIERE: Senior Advisor, BNP Paribas Group
  • Jean Pierre LANDAU: Director General, French Bankers Association
  • Jim O NELL: Managing Director and Chief Currency Economist, Goldman Sachs
  • John WILLIAMSON: Senior Fellow, Institute of International Economics
  • Jorge BRAGA DE MACEDO: President Development Center, OECD
  • Klaus REGLING: Managing Director, Moore Capital Management
  • Marc UZAN: Executive Director, Reinventing Bretton Woods Committee
  • Mario DRAGHI: Director General of the Treasury, Ministry of Treasury of Italy
  • Mervyn KING: Deputy Governor, Bank of England
  • Philippe MAYSTADT: President, European Investment Bank
  • Richard PORTES: Director, CEPR
  • Robert DAHLBERG: Program Director, American Council on Germany
  • Stefan SCHOENBERG: Director, International Affairs, Bundesbank

This website uses cookies. By using this website you agree to the use of cookies. Read More

The Reinventing Bretton Woods Committee uses cookies on its website to count and analyse visits to the site. The organization uses this information sparingly and responsibly. Users of the site can configure their web browsers to notify them of these cookies or refuse to use them.