Living Without Globalization

Hamburg, Germany

July 3-4, 2017 



This forum organized for the occasion of Germany’s G20 presidency explored the nature and causes of recent shifts in the financial landscape worldwide. The implications of these shifts for global growth and strategies for moving forward were also discussed. The forum also provided an opportunity to reflect about the challenges posed by the on-going emergence of economic disintegration and other major uncertainties,, while also focusing on how to create new conditions for shared and inclusive growth.



  • Adam LUDWIN: Co-Founder and CEO, Chain
  • Andre M. BAJORAT: CEO Figo, Member of Bitkom Main Board
  • Andreas DOMBRET: Member of the Executive Board, Deutsche Bundesbank
  • Ardo HANSSON: Governor, Bank of Estonia
  • Audun GRONN: Special Advisor to the Governor, Norges Bank
  • Barry EICHENGREEN: Professor of Economics and Political Science, UC Berkeley
  • Beat SIEGENTHALER: Global Macro Advisor, UBS
  • Cartsen BROSDA: Minister of Culture Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg
  • Cecilia SKINGSLEY: Deputy Governor, Central Bank of Sweden
  • Christian DUSTMANN: Professor of Economics, University College London
  • Christian KELLER: Head of Economics Research, Barclays Investment Bank
  • Christian RAST: Chief Solutions Officer and Global Head of Data & Analytics, KPMG
  • Christoph TREBESCH: Professor of Global Macroeconomics, Kiel Institute for the World Economy
  • Cyrus DE LA RUBIA: Chief economist, HSH Nordbank
  • David GRUEN: Australian G20 Sherpa and Deputy Secretary Economic, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
  • Ellis OWUSU DABO: Professor of Global Health, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Ghana
  • Etsuro HONDA: Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary to Switzerland and Liechtenstein and Ambassador for Economic and Financial Affairs in Europe, Embassy of Japan in Switzerland
  • Filippo DI MAURO: Chairman, Competitiveness Research Network
  • Guangyo ZHU: Vice Minister of Finance, People’s Republic of China
  • Guido FUERER: Chief Investment Officer, Swiss RE
  • Han CHEN: Co-Chief Executive Officer, China Europe International Exchange (CEINEX)
  • Harold JAMES: Professor of European Studies, History and International Affairs, Princeton University
  • Hartmut BERGHOFF: Professor of Social and Economic History, Georg-August University Göttingen
  • Henning VÖPEL: Director, Hamburg Institute of International Economics
  • Hiroshi WATANABE: President, Institute for International Monetary Affairs
  • Hugo FREY JENSEN: Governor, Danmarks Nationalbank
  • Ilmars RIMSEVICS: Governor, Bankf of Latvia
  • Italo COLANTONE: Professor of Economics, University of Bocconi
  • Jean Pierre LANDAU : Professor of Economics, Sciences Po
  • Jens MEIER: Chief Executive Officer, Hamburg Port Authority
  • Joaquim LEVY: Managing Director, Chief Financial Officer, The World Bank Group
  • Joerg STEPHAN: Deputy Director General, G20 Policy, Ministry of Finance, Germany
  • Johann JUNGWIRTH: Chief Digital Officer, Volkswagen
  • Jonathan T. FRIED: Coordinator, International Economic Relations at Global Affairs, Canada
  • Jorg ASMUSSEN: Managing Director, Lazard & Co. GmbH
  • Junhong CHANG: Director, AMRO
  • Jürgen SCHACLER: Chairman, Aurubis
  • Kevin O’ROURKE: Professor of Economic History, University of Oxford
  • Keyu JIN: Associate Professor of Economics, London School of Economics
  • Klaus BECKMANN: Professor of Economics, Helmut Schmidt University
  • Marc UZAN: Executive Director, Reinventing Bretton Woods Committee
  • Marieke FLAMENT: Managing Director for Europe, Circle
  • Markus BRUNNERMEIER: Professor of Economics, Princeton University
  • Massimiliano CASTELLI: Managing Director, UBS Global Asset Management
  • Mathias HANTEN: Partner, Deloitte Legal
  • Mattia ROMANI: Managing Director, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development
  • Michael BORDO: Professor of Economics, University of Rutgers
  • Moritz SCHULARICK: Professor of Economics, University of Bonn
  • Nauro CAMPOS: Professor of Economics and Finance, Brunel University London
  • Panu POUTVAARA: professor of Economics, IFO Institute Munich
  • Patrick NJOROGE: Governor, Central Bank of Kenya
  • Paul SCHMELZING: Visiting Scholar Bank of England, History of the International Financial System and Economic History, Harvard University
  • Qiangwu ZHOU: Director General, International economics and Finance Institute, Ministry of Finance, China
  • Rolf WENZEL: Governor, The Council of Europe Development Bank
  • Santiago FERNANDEZ DE LIS: Chief Economist of Financial Systems and Regulation, BBVA Research
  • Simon EVENETT: Professor of International Trade and Economic Development, University of St. Gallen
  • Thomas LOSSE MÜLLER: Cabinet Secretary, Government Schleswig Holstein
  • Thomas MIROW: Former President, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development
  • Tobias ADRIAN: Financial Counsellor and Director, Monetary and Capital Markets Department, International Monetary Fund
  • Ulrich BINDSEIL: Director General, European Central Bank
  • Vasuki SHASTRY: Global Head, Standard Chartered
  • Veronica LANGE: Innovation Head, UBS
  • Vitas VASILIAUSKAS: Chairman of the Board, Bank of Lithuana
  • Xue YU: Chairman, Maritime Silk Road Holdings Group
  • Yaroslav LISSOVOLIK: Chief Economist and Board Member, Eurasian Development Bank and Program Director, The Valdai Club
  • Yide QIAO: Secretary General, Shanghai Development Research Foundation

This website uses cookies. By using this website you agree to the use of cookies. Read More

The Reinventing Bretton Woods Committee uses cookies on its website to count and analyse visits to the site. The organization uses this information sparingly and responsibly. Users of the site can configure their web browsers to notify them of these cookies or refuse to use them.