Dialogue of Continents 2019

The New Age of Progress

Hamburg, Germany

October 29-30, 2019



Strategic Partners

Supporting Partners


As we celebrate anniversaries for the Paris Treaty, the creation of the Bretton Woods system and the G20, it is hard to overlook the bleak state of the world and the global economy. We seem to be witnessing the return of power relations, reward-sanction mechanisms and a cycle of frozen conflicts.

In addition, trade tensions and tightening financial conditions could accelerate capital outflows from emerging market economies and depress demand. Sharp slowdown in China could hit economies worldwide by causing a significant decline in global equity prices and higher global risk premia.

In the midst of these challenges, the digital transformation is turning economies and societies upside down and artificial intelligence is redefining the job market and the nature of work itself.

At the same time, global warming is exceeding even the most pessimistic forecasts and will likely remain an enduring phenomenon compounded by inequalities and conflict across the globe as well as migration and demographic pressures.

Dialogue of Continents 2019 engaged top actors in both the public and private sector in thinking about what it will take to overcome these challenges and the extent to which the solutions we develop can help chart a course towards new and exciting forms of progress



  • Aleksi GRYM: Head of Digitalisation, Bank of Finland
  • Alessia BERARDI: Deputy Head of Macroeconomic Research, Amundi Asset Management
  • Anikó SZOMBATI: Executive Director and Chief Digital Officer, Central Bank of Hungary
  • Anna HOFMANN: Head of Research and Scholarship, ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Bucerius
  • Aurora WONG: Vice President of ZB Group, Founder of Crypto Capital, Founder of ZB Nexus
  • Boris VUJČIĆ: Governor, Central Bank of Croatia
  • Carsten MUMM: Chief Economist, Donner & Reuschel
  • Catherine L. MANN: Global Chief Economist, Citigroup
  • Ching ZHU: CEO, Chain Board Inc.
  • Christoph TREBESCH: Head of International Finance & Global Governance, Kiel Institute for the World Economy
  • Denis BEAU: First Deputy Governor, Bank of France
  • Dirck SUESS: Director of the Economic Policy Department, Hamburg Chamber of Commerce
  • Dongsheng DI: Associate Dean and Professor of International Political Economics/World Economy, School of International Studies at Renmin University of China
  • Eric GU: Founder, Metaverse
  • George KVIRIKASHVILI: International Advisor, EBRD, and Prime Minister of Georgia (2015 – 2018)
  • Henning VÖPEL: Director & CEO, Hamburg Institute of International Economics (HWWI)
    Marc UZAN: Executive Director, Reinventing Bretton Woods Committee
  • Ian GOLDIN: Professor of Globalization and Development and Director of the Oxford Martin Program on Technological and Economic Change, Oxford University
  • Ido SADEH MAN: President, Saga Foundation
  • Jacob FRENKEL: Chairman, JP Morgan Chase International, Former Governor of the Bank of Israel (1991-2000)
  • Jakob VON WEIZSÄCKER: Chief Economist, Ministry of Finance, Germany
  • Jeffrey SACHS: President, Earth Institute
  • Jens KERSTAN: Minister of Environment and Energy, Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg
  • Johannes CASPAR: Hamburg Commissioner for Data Protection and Freedom of Information
  • Jörg NOENNIG: Professor for Digital City Science, HCU HafenCity University Hamburg, CityScienceLab
  • Karin KNEISSL: Former Foreign Minister, Austria
  • Linda SCHILLING: Assistant Professor, Ecole Polytechnique CREST
  • Lorenzo BINI SMAGHI: Chairman, Société Générale, Former Member of the Executive Board of the ECB
  • Loubna BOUARFA: CEO and Founder, OKRA Technologies
  • Masood AHMED: President, Center for Global Development
  • Moritz SCHULARICK: Professor of Economics, University of Bonn, Fellow of the Institute for New Economic Thinking
  • Nijathaworn BANDID: Chairman of the Foundation for Public Policy and Good Governance (Bangkok), Former Deputy Governor of the Bank of Thailand
  • Petre ROMAN: Former Prime Minister of Romania, Professor at University Politechnica Bucharest
  • Pier Carlo PADOAN: Member of Parliament, Former Minister of Finance, Italy
  • Pierre HEILBRONN: Vice President Policy and Partnership, EBRD
  • Raekwon CHUNG: Professor Emeritus at Incheon National University, and Chairman of the International Award Committee, Global Energy Prize
  • Rhomaios RAM: CEO, Fnality International
  • Shamshad AKHTAR: Former Head, UN ESCAP
  • Stephanie KELTON: Professor of Economics, Stony Brook University
  • Tan Sri Rastam MOHD ISA: Chairman and Chief Executive, Institute of Strategic and International Studies (ISIS) Malaysia
  • Tao ZHANG: Deputy Managing Director, IMF
  • Tim SIEVERS: CEO & Founder, Deposit Solutions
  • Vitor CONSTÂNCIO: Dean, School of Management Lisboa, Former Vice President of the ECB
  • Werner HOYER: President, European Investment Bank
  • Wolfgang KLEINWÄCHTER: Member of ICANN
  • Yaroslav LISSOVOLIK: Head of Research, Sberbank CIB

This website uses cookies. By using this website you agree to the use of cookies. Read More

The Reinventing Bretton Woods Committee uses cookies on its website to count and analyse visits to the site. The organization uses this information sparingly and responsibly. Users of the site can configure their web browsers to notify them of these cookies or refuse to use them.