Dialogue of Continents, 2020


November 4-6, 2020



Covid19 has hit the global economy severely, creating great pressure for economies and institutions and putting the world at a crossroads. The global economy had been fragile long before, due to a geopolitical shift, the digital transformation, global warming and societal fragmentation, among other causes. Collective action is required to help create tighter policy coordination for a safe and reliable environment for business continuity and innovation. A closer dialogue between government officials, policy makers, scientist, technological innovators, and business leaders at the highest level is extremely important in this regard.

Through this third edition of the Dialogue of Continents Forum we continue to involve stakeholders worldwide in thinking about the way forward toward progress and peace- this year with a focus on embracing an Age of Imagination .

see session videos



  • Viral Acharya: Professor of Economics, NYU
  • Sufian Ahmed: Former Finance Minister Ethiopia
  • Shamshad Akhtar: Former Head, UN ESCAP
  • Heba Ali: Chief, Research and Statistics Division, Arab Monetary Fund
  • Ulrich Baldauf: Head of IT Innovation and Strategy, Hamburg Port of Authority
  • Baur Bektemirov:  Chief Economist, AIFC
  • Loubna Bouarfa: CEO and Founder, OKRA Technologies
  • Massimiliano Castelli: Managing Director, UBS Asset Management
  • Howard Chang: Vice President of Global Affairs, TCSA
  • Vitor Constancio: President School Board, School of Economics and Management University of Lisboa
  • Zeno D’Agostino: Head of the Port Authority, Trieste
  • Massimo Deandreis: General Manager, SRM (Economic Research Center related to Intesa Sanpaolo Group)
  • Dongsheng Di: Associate Dean and Professor of International Political Economics/World Economy, School of International Studies at Renmin University of China

  • Lei Ding: Senior Community Development Economic Adviser, Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia
  • Denelle Dixon: Executive Director, Stellar Foundation
  • Henry Farrell: Professor at Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies, and the 2019 recipient of the Friedrich Schiedel Prize for Politics and Technology
  • Rod Garratt: Chair in Economics, University of Santa Barbara
  • Enrico Giovannini: Professor of Economic Statistics and Sustainable Development at the Tor Vergata University of Rome
  • Ilan Goldfajn: Chairman of the Board, Credit Suisse Brazil and Founding Partner and Director CDPP
  • Alexey Grom: President, United Transport and Logistics Company
  • Zhu Guangyao: Former Vice Minister of Finance China
  • Jonathan Hackenbroich: Policy Fellow for Economic Statecraft (ECFR)
  • Kim Heungchong: President, Korea Institute for International Economic Policy
  • Mario Holzner: Director, Vienna Institute for international Economics
  • Michael Hugman: Director, Finance Climate Children’s Investment Foundation
  • Harold James: Professor of History, Princeton University
  • Kairat Kaliyev: Deputy CEO, Chairman Fintech Hub, Astana International Financial Center
  • Ekaterina Kozyreva: President IEC International
  • Krishna B. Kumar: Director, International Research, RAND
  • George Kvirikashvili: International Advisor, EBRD, and Prime Minister of Georgia (2015 – 2018)
  • Subir Lall : Deputy Director, Central Asia and Middle East  Department , IMF
  • Jean Pierre Landau: Former Deputy Governor, Banque de France
  • Felipe Larrain: Former Finance Minister, Chile and Professor of Economics, Universidad Catolica de Chile
  • Leslie Maasdorp: Chief Financial Officer, New Development Bank
  • Ousmene Mandeng: Senior Advisor, Accenture
  • Isabelle Mateos y Lago: Global Head of BlackRock’s Official Institutions Group
  • Antonella Mei-Pochtler: Special Advisor to the Chancellor Austria, and Head of Strategy Unit Think Austria
  • Atif Mian: Professor of Economics, Princeton University
  • Rakesh Mohan: President, Brookings India, Centre for Social and Economic Progress
  • Piroska Nagy-Mohácsi: Interim Director, Institute of Global Affairs, LSE
  • Luis Oganes: Managing Director Emerging Markets Research, JP Morgan
  • Athanasios Orphanides: Professor of Economics, MIT
  • Oksana Pak: Head of Access to Finance and Entrepreneurship, EBRD
  • Benjamin Pring: Partner, Cognizant
  • Francesco Profumo: President of ACRI and Compagnia Di San Paolo. Former Italian Minister of Education and Research
  • Gabriela Ramos: Assistant Director-General for Social and Human Sciences, UNESCO
  • James Roaf: Coordinator Climate Change Policy, Assistant Director IMF
  • Petre Roman: Former Prime Minister of Romania, Professor at University Politechnica Bucharest
  • Mattia Romani: Managing Director, EBRD
  • Federico Steinberg: Senior Analyst, Elcano Royal Institute
  • Sayuri Shirai: Professor of Economics, Keio University, Former Bank of Japan Policy Board Member
  • Betsey Stevenson: Professor of Economics, University of Michigan
  • Livio Stracca: Deputy Director General International Relations, ECB
  • Philip Sweens: Managing Director, HHLA International
  • Niels Thygesen: Chairman, European Fiscal Board
  • Marc Uzan: Executive Director, Reinventing Bretton Woods Committee
  • Venky Venkateswaran: Associate Professor of Economics NYU
  • Marie-Christine Von Hahn: Vice-President, Aurubis
  • Jakob Von Weizsäcker: Chief Economist, Ministry of Finance, Germany
  • Henning Vöpel: Director & CEO, Hamburg Institute of International Economics
  • Leanne Zeng: Vice-President of global Affairs, TCSA
  • Adkins Zheng: Chairman and Chief Algorithm Officer, TCSA

This website uses cookies. By using this website you agree to the use of cookies. Read More

The Reinventing Bretton Woods Committee uses cookies on its website to count and analyse visits to the site. The organization uses this information sparingly and responsibly. Users of the site can configure their web browsers to notify them of these cookies or refuse to use them.